top of page

General Information About Heroes

In the tutorial, you get your first heroesGalahad, Artemis, Thea, Phobos, and Astaroth. You can obtain other heroes and their Soul Stones at the Soul Atrium, completing heroic missions, etc.

Heroes are automatically positioned on the battlefield based on their auto-attack range. You cannot manually adjust their positions.

Every hero belongs to a specific role: tank, warrior, marksman, mage, support, control, and healer

  • Tank characters have more health and are more resistant to damage than other roles. Tanks usually stand on the front lines to absorb more damage and protect their team members. Some of them have special skills that allow them to attract the opponent's attacks. 

  • Warrior characters specialize in dealing damage to the opponent in close combat.

  • Marksman characters also deal damage but use ranged attacks.

  • Mages deal magic damage.

  • Support characters give their allies an advantage in battle. For example, they can remove negative effects, give a shield, resurrect, etc.

  • Control characters inflict control effects on the opponents to make them less effective.

  • Healers have abilities that restore health. These characters typically stand further to avoid attacks.

Some heroes may have two roles, e.g., Cleaver is both tank and control.


Some heroes have an additional stat, special trait. There are five specials in the game.

  1. Blessed: Galahad, Markus, Tristan, Luther;

  2. Grove Keeper: Thea, Alvanor, Kai;

  3. Undead: Phobos, Corvus, Morrigan;

  4. Engineer: Ginger, Isaac, Fox.

  5. Fire Heralds: KaylaAidan.


Each special trait has heroes with unique skills. In battle, these abilities grant certain bonuses to all characters with the same special on the team. For example, Corvus and Morrigan have the Undead trait. Thus, their skills are synergic.


Currently, there are five heroes with special skills:

  • Corvus's Strike of the Damned and Unity of the Damned skills boost the Undead heroes;

  • Morrigan's Bone Armor and Moonlight skills boost the Undead heroes;

  • Alvanor's Rune of Life and Harmony of the Grove skills boost the Grove Keeper heroes;

  • Tristan's Righteous Zeal, Serving the Light, and Blessed Vanguard skills boost the Blessed heroes;

  • Isaac's Drone Swarm skill boosts the Engineer heroes.


You can find detailed information about a hero in their Stats tab. There you can learn about their background, position, main and secondary stats, and role. To open the Stats tab:

1. Tap the Heroes button.

2. Select the required hero.

3. Go to the Stats tab.


Hero level determines a hero's strength. The maximum hero level is 130.


Starting from team level 30, hero level cap depends on your current team level and cannot be higher than it.

To gain hero experience:

  • complete Campaign missions using heroes you wish to upgrade;

  • use EXP potions.

You can buy EXP potions at the Town Shop or receive them by raiding missions.


The higher the level, the more experience you need to raise it.


Each hero has four skills. You can manually activate only the first one. To do so, press the hero icon when it starts glowing and the energy bar is full.
The second, third, and fourth skills activate automatically according to their recharge period, i.e., cooldown time. It means you have to wait a certain amount of time before a hero can cast these skills again. You can learn the timings of skill casts by observing battles or by asking fellow players on our official Discord server. Also, check out the official Hero Wars Universe website; it describes all heroes and their skills in detail.


The maximum level of the first two skills is 130, the third — 110, and the fourth — 90. 


Hover your mouse cursor over the name of the skill to read its description.

To view the detailed skill description:

  • Go to Settings by pressing the gear button in the lower-right corner of the main game screen.

  • Switch the Complete Skill Info setting on.

To level up a skill, you need both Skill Points and gold. After you use Points, it takes time for them to restore: you get one Point every five minutes. You can get a maximum of 20 Skill Points this way.


If the Exchange Shop pops up when you try to level up a skill, it means that you do not have enough gold for a level-up.

To get more Points, press the plus icon next to the Points counter and buy them with emeralds. 


There are 18 ranks in the game. They range from white to red +2.


When you level up a hero's rank, you improve their stats and unlock skills and glyphs.

To upgrade a hero to the next rank, you need to collect and craft all required items. You can gather items and their fragments by completing Campaign missions. The rarer the item, the lower its drop chance. You can also purchase items and their fragments in various game shops.

Rank and Equipment

Star rank increases the hero's main stats. The maximum star rank is six stars.


To level up your hero's star rank, you need gold and Soul Stones. The number of Soul Stones required for an upgrade:

  • 1st star — 10 Soul Stones;
    2nd star — 20 Soul Stones (or 30 Soul Stones if you summon the hero for the first time);
    3rd star — 50 Soul Stones (or 80 Soul Stones if you summon the hero for the first time);
    4th star — 100 Soul Stones;
    5th star — 150 Soul Stones;
    6th star — 300 Soul Stones.


You can earn Soul Stones:

  • at the Soul Atrium;

  • by completing special event tasks;

  • by purchasing a bundle with hero Soul Stones;

  • by buying in one of the game Shops.

Star Rank and Soul Stones

Skins increase hero stats and change their appearance. Each hero has a Default skin that boosts their main characteristic: strength, agility, or intelligence. Additional skins upgrade secondary stats. To level up a skin, you need to use Skin Stones.



All skin bonuses stack no matter what skin is active at the moment. Equipping a skin only changes the appearance of a hero.

You can purchase skins with Skin Stones, buy them in the Skin Sale tab, or get them during special events. 


Each hero has five Glyphs. They boost main and secondary stats. To unlock Glyphs, you need to upgrade the hero's rank.


The maximum Glyph level is 50.

To level up a Glyph, you need emeralds or runes. From the beginning, you can upgrade a Glyph only to the 30th level. When a hero reaches level 60, you can boost the Glyph up to level 40. Glyph levels 41-50 become available when your hero gets to level 100.


Gift of the Elements allows you to upgrade three main stats of a hero. To level up a hero's Gift of the Elements, you need gold and Sparks of Power that you can get for upgrading titans, their skins, and artifacts, or buy in Titan Soul Shop.

The maximum Gift of the Elements bonus is 720 to the hero's primary stat and 360 to the other two stats.

You can always reset your Gift of the Elements level. Note that you get back only Sparks of Power, not gold.

Gift of the Elements

See Other Articles

Hero Stats

Learn about main and secondary hero stats.

bottom of page